Christmas, looming

It’s pretty far into the Christmas season, but it still doesn’t feel like Christmas. I realized this today, when I was grudgingly in Church. The pastor was speaking about the readings for the day, and said that “this week’s message” had something to do about Advent being a time of preparation. Not just of preparing gifts for others and things that are outside of us, but of preparing our inner selves for the religious orgasm that is Christmas. And I thought, what the hell. I’m not doing either, I don’t have time. What right has the public school system to suck my lifeblood when I’m still a minor? I thought kids were supposed to have fun.

I have a job, I’m a good kid, leave me alone.


Leave a Reply

