Drawing as an extension of thought

First day of classes. I only had two today: art history and drawing. I liked both, especially the drawing class. We have as our instructor a second-year grad student, and the most intriguing phrase he used was drawing as an extension of thought, which really interested me. I hope to get to the point where it’s a natural and organic function: eat, sleep, draw. But the most difficult part of getting to that place will be allowing myself to suspend judgment on my own ability. If I keep feeling the need to put myself down before others do, I will continue to exist in a sort of artistic limbo. But hopefully this will not happen, because that would be a waste and art supplies are expensive.

Leave a Reply

